May 02, 2019
Guatemala Service Trip
View entire list
This Week's Meeting
We meet at noon on Thursday, May 2, 2019
Great Lakes Ballroom, Holiday Inn
Guatemala Service Trip
Chana Stocke
McKenzie MacFarlane
Alyssa Sorenson
By Rob Hofmann
Rotary Club of Duluth #25 and its many members experienced a sweeping youth movement Thursday that will be remembered for a very long time. This date marked our annual Junior Rotarian Day when the 2018-2019 corps of Junior Rotarians took over our weekly meeting. These young future leaders took over all the jobs from their Rotarian counterparts working as greeters and 50/50 sales among other duties.
Jr. Rotarians Desarae Beasley and Abby Haugen from Proctor, at the Registration Table
Club 25's Dan Maki works the 50/50 raffle with Jr. Rotarians McKenna Janzig from Hermantown and Zach Gunderson from Proctor
President-elect Michelle Buria, sporting her “Class of 1989” Cathedral High School letter jacket, rang the Rotary Bell calling us to order followed by Rotarians singing
The Star Spangled Banner accompanied by pianist Past President John Baumgarten. President-elect Michelle led our Reflection with an acknowledgement that we were in the presence of our future leaders: young people who will do wondrous things for our community in the coming years.
The Fellowship Report began with President-elect Michelle seeking self-reports. There were a few surprises! Marc Seigar kicked off the fines by owning up to being a suffering Arsenal (English Premier Soccer League) fan as his team has been on a losing streak recently. Rob Hofmann reported that he successfully recertified as a Certified Fund Raising Executive (CFRE), a professional accreditation that is shared by only 6,000 in the world; among them being Traci Marciniak, a newly minted CFRE who also “kicked the golden can.” Jay Ott celebrated the birth of a new grandchild, while Dave Holappa welcomed “Denver” – a black lab into his family. Speaking of new family members, Robin Pestalozzi announced the news that she and husband Stephen are expecting their first!
President-elect Michelle invited the 2019 winner of Club #25’s 4-Way Test Essay Contest Lilly Latteral to the podium. Reading from her essay, Lilly delivered a message on deep personal truths, truths of caring for others, treating others with integrity, listening, and above all kindness – as measured by the 4-Way Test.
Lilly Latteral, Lakeview Christian Academy, reading from her winning 4-Way Test Essay
New Generations Chair Marc Seigar then invited representatives from Harbor City, East High School, Denfeld, Proctor and Hermantown schools to report on their Honorarium Projects. Harbor City plans to improve its theatre technology with LED lights. Hermantown will address a broken water fountain that is causing leaks in their new locker room. Proctor will purchase photographic equipment in support of their school paper and other school events. East split their fund for two programs: “Circle of Friends” – a student-to-student mentoring program, and “Dress Wear Closet” that provides dress clothing for students for job interviews or formal events. Denfeld has created “Hunter Hut” that provides fellow students the essentials for better hygiene.
Our program was a delightful performance from Harbor City’s theatre program. We were entertained with a small sample performance from their family friendly musical “Tuck Everlasting – The Musical.”
Quincy Clark from Proctor along with onlookers President-elect Michelle Buria, Marc Seigar (hiding) and Dave McClean
Jessica Forsman from Duluth East
Marc Seigar with Rachel Skwira-Brown from Denfeld
Proctor Jr. Rotarians Zach Gunderson, Aspen Abrahamson-Taylor and Greta Voikinan, sharing a table with Will Smith (Harbor City). Photo bomb courtesy of Edie Michalski promoting a poster for Harbor City's musical Tuck Everlasting
The cast of Tuck Everlasting, a musical production performed by students from Harbor City International School
Rotary’s Annual District Conference Brings Recognition to Club #25 and the Twin Ports Rotaract Club with the following awards:
· The International Club Service Award for Distinquished Rotarian in the Community Service area was awarded to Club #25’s Dan Dock
· The 2017-18 Presidential Citation Award was awarded to Club #25 for work under the leadership of Past President Tricia Bunten
· First Place with a District Award of Excellence for the largest total contributions to the Rotary Foundation at $18,840 was awarded to Club #25
· Second Place with a District Award of Excellence for the Largest Club Contribution to Polio Plus at $13,275 was awarded to Club #25
· The District’s Rotaract Community Service Award was awarded to the Twin Ports Rotaract Club, President McKenzie MacFarlane
This Week's Meeting
We meet Thursdays at 12:00 PM
Holiday Inn
207 West Superior Street
Duluth, MN  55802
United States of America
VenueMap Venue Map
Upcoming Events
Annual Dinner and Auction Committee Meeting
1411 London Road
Apr 29, 2019
5:30 PM – 7:00 PM
Rotary Board Special Meeting
Rotary Office
Apr 30, 2019
8:00 AM – 9:00 AM
Rotary 2019-2020 Officer Lunch
Apr 30, 2019
12:00 PM – 1:00 PM
Rotary Duck Pluck Committee Meeting
RSM Wealth Management Office
May 01, 2019
12:00 PM – 1:00 PM
Volunteer Opportunity: Project Joy Backpack Program
Second Harvest Northern Lakes Food Bank
May 03, 2019
10:00 AM – 12:00 PM
Volunteer Opportunity: Community Food Distribution
Second Harvest Northern Lakes Food Bank
May 08, 2019
4:15 PM – 5:30 PM
Rotary Annual Dinner and Auction
Marshall School
May 09, 2019
5:30 PM – 9:00 PM
New Generations Committee Meeting
May 13, 2019
12:00 PM – 1:00 PM
Rotary Club of Duluth Foundation Board meeting
Liberty Wealth Management
May 14, 2019
4:00 PM – 5:00 PM
May Board Meeting (McGiffert Room)
Kitchi Gammi Club- McGiffert Room
May 21, 2019
8:00 AM – 9:00 AM
Birthdays & Anniversaries
Member Birthdays
Kjell Knudsen
April 1
Ruth Ann Eaton
April 8
Michael Zlonis
April 16
Dick Fischer
April 20
Ken Schoen
April 21
Tom Wheeler
April 22
Tim Mowbray
April 26
Sandy Hoff
April 27
Al Makynen
April 28
Corey Collier
May 1
Dave Rutford
May 1
Catherine Carter Huber
May 3
Jim Landwehr
May 4
Jim Olson
May 5
Douglas Erickson
May 15
David Nolle
May 16
Chas Bernick
May 17
Kate Molinaro
May 21
John Baumgarten
May 23
Karol Sowers
May 24
Beth Storaasli
May 26
Dick Pelinka
May 30